2017 Proposed Changes to Nevada State’s Massage Therapy Law

time for changeNRS 640.C governs the massage therapy profession and the professionals who are licensed by the Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists (NSBMT). In late-2016, with their newest Executive Director, Sandy Anderson, the NSBMT asked Honorable Assemblywoman Maggie Carlton to sponsor a Bill that would primarily change the constituency of the licensees holding state, professional massage therapy licenses. There are several points to the Bill, as it is currently written and Introduced by Assemblywoman Carlton, that, as massage therapists, affect us.

The Bill – a proposal, ready to be signed into law by the Governor if the state Assembly and the state Senate pass it – first known as BDR 766 when introduced on December 10, 2016, and has been formally introduced to the Assembly as AB 179 on February 13, 2017, proposes to do several things:

  1. Change the name of the board: from the “Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists” to the “Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy
  2. Add two new license types to the currently-existing Licensed Massage Therapists, et al: Licensed Reflexologist, et al; and, Licensed Structural Integration Practitioner, et al. Reflexology would be moved from under NRS 629 “Wellness Services” to NRS 640.C; Structural Integration Practitioner would be a newly-created license under this Bill. Each new license would have its own educational, legal, and Application requirements.
  3. Change the composition of the NSBMT: from 7 Board Members to 9 Board Members:  the 2 additional Board members would be – one each – from the newly-added fields to the NSBMT’s domain: a NSBMT-licensed Reflexologist and an NSBMT-licensed Structural Integration Practitioner.
  4. Add Establishments to its regulatory oversight: Massage Therapy, Reflexology, and Structural Integration Establishments would – additionally, to local regulation (if any) – come under the Board’s regulation. A [maximum] Inspection Fee of $50 would be levied for each Board-initiated Massage Therapy, Reflexology, and Structural Integration Establishment request for inspection.
  5. Change the license Renewal Period: from every One Year (annually) to every Two Years (biennially) – the Renewal Fee would double to $300 but only be required every two years…so the annual amount of the Renewal Fee would not change.

The NSBMT is expecting to nearly double the number of licensees under NRS 640.C and the fiscal impact of all the proposed changes contained in the Bill have little to no effect on the licensees. For the item changing the Renewal Period from annual to biennial, it has been projected as an annual $16,000 savings to the NSBMT.

 

We will be keeping you up-to-date about the progress of this Bill, here in this post.

There will also be a live Q & A Session mediated by the Chapter to answer any questions that we can on Monday, February 27th, 2017, at 5:30pm, hosted at the Nevada School of Massage Therapy. Please join us to ask your questions and offer your opinions.

The Nevada Chapter will be polling its members via email contact regarding their thoughts about this new, striking change to the face of our state board here in Nevada – be on the watch for that email. The Chapter’s Mission is to empower AMTA-NV Chapter members and one way we do that is by getting feedback from our members and presenting it to interested parties for review…like the NSBMT.

If you would like to Comment directly to the Nevada Legislature, here is the link: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Opinions/79th2017/A/

This and Other Bills regarding massage therapy that are being heard in the Nevada Legislature’s 79th Session are being watched and reported on at our Government Relations page.

If you have questions or concerns, please let us know by emailing email hidden; JavaScript is required

 

AMTA-NV Public Service Announcement: NSBMT Citation Policy

Revised late in 2012, the Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy (NSBMT) published and distributed its Citation Policy that lists the fine amounts for infractions of NRS 640C for Massage Therapists and Persons.  Please note: the below list is not an all-inclusive schedule and may change upon action of the board during their regular meetings.

If you have any questions about the publication, please contact the NSBMT directly at their website or by email at email hidden; JavaScript is required.  The Chapter wants Nevada’s NVMTs and Public to know the infractions and the cost of those – fines are not collected or used by the Board and go to State of Nevada funds.

NSBMT CITATION POLICY

Practicing Massage Therapy

1. A Citation shall be issued to any person practicing Massage Therapy without a current Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists License.

2. A Citation shall be issued to any Massage Therapist that is practicing Massage Therapy with an expired Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists License.

3. A Citation shall be issued to a Massage Therapist that is practicing Massage Therapy without their current, valid Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists License displayed per NRS 640C.450.  (Examples of not posted:  In your wallet, purse, backpack, drawer or car but not limited to)

4. A Citation shall be issued to any person practicing Massage Therapy with an altered license.

a. If person has an altered Massage Therapists License with the NSBMT they will be scheduled for the next available Board Meeting for disciplinary action.

5. A Citation shall be issued to a Massage Therapist practicing Massage Therapy with a copied license.

Advertising

Unlicensed

  • A Citation shall be issued to any person that is advertising Massage Therapy without a Current Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy License.

Expired License

  • A Cease and Desist (C & D) Notice shall be issued to any person that is advertising as stated in NRS 640C.910 (2) with a minimum of a 15-business day compliance date.
  • A Citation shall be issued to any person that is currently advertising with a license that is expired more than 90 days. (R:8/13/2010)
  • A Cease and Desist Notice shall be issued for non-compliance of NAC640C.200 to NAC 640C.310 with a 15-day compliance date.
  • A Citation shall be issued to any person that does not comply with a Cease and Desist Notice on the first business day after the allotted time period has expired.

Schedule of fines; disciplinary hearings.

1. The Board adopts the following schedule of fines for any violation of the provisions listed:

A $150.00 Administrative Fee Applies to all Citations

Violation   First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
Practicing Without Having Acquired a License   500.00 1000.00 2000.00
Practicing With Expired License   100.00 500.00 1500.00
Practicing Without Display of License   100.00 150.00 500.00
Altering License for the display of NRS 640C   1000.00 3000.00 5000.00
Copying License for the display of NRS 640C   100.00 250.00 500.00
Advertising Massage Therapy Without a License   350.00 1000.00 5000.00
Advertising Massage Therapy Without a Current License after C & D or 90 expired   200.00 500.00 1500.00
Advertising Without License Number   100.00 250.00 500.00
On Probation Working Without Supervising Massage Therapist Present   200.00 1000.00 5000.00
NAC 640C.200 to NAC 640C.310 Establishment Violation (excluding NAC 640C.230(2))   100.00 250.00 500.00
Unlawful Habitation of a Massage Establishment NAC 640C.230 (2)   1000.00 5000.00 10000.00